History about the tunnel...
- Before the tunnel, there was a 2 lane draw bridge that would take 45 minutes to get from
Broward Boulevard to the opposite side of the tunnel, which is SE 6th. Street.
- In 1956, Henry E. Kinney, a journalist for "The Herald", started a petition to get a
tunnel built under the New River/ Himmarshee.
- In November of 1956, A vote was done, and the protunnel group won, 7008 to 6,401.
- In August of 1958, construction of the new tunnel began.
- The Stranahan House is the only structure/building that the tunnel has to support. Besides
the road, Las Olas Blvd and it's cars.
- In December 9th, 1960, completetion of the tunnel and was open to traffic. The ribbon
was cut by Governor LeRoy Collins. At a cost of 6.6 million dollars.
- When the tunnel was opened, it was called, "The New River Tunnel".
- In July 1985, Henry E. Kinney died.
- In a Legislative Session, in 1986, the tunnel name was changed to Henry E. Kinney. Dedicated
to the man who lead the protunnel group.
- In the Summer 2001, the tunnel was closed at night to fix leaks, that have been a ongoing since
first discovered in 1986.